Leaving The Scene Of A Rochester, New York, Car Accident With Personal Injury
If You, or a Loved One, Have Sustained Injuries in a Rochester Car Accident Caused by a Driver Who Fled the Crash Site, The Dietrich Law Firm P.C. Could Secure the Compensation You Need to Recover from Your Injuries.
The aftermath of a serious car accident can be chaotic and confusing. You might be upset, injured, and in pain but unsure of your next steps. The prospect of speaking to law enforcement and reporting a claim to your insurance company could feel overwhelming. However, remaining at the crash site is imperative, even if the other motorist’s misconduct caused the collision. If you leave without speaking to the other motorist or exchanging information, you risk losing your rights to compensation.
Fortunately, and in spite of the potential consequences, most people do the right thing and remain at the scene of the collision. According to the American Automobile Association, only 5.5% of the fatal car crashes surveyed involved a motorist who tried to flee the scene. Of course, statistics do little to comfort those who have been seriously injured in Rochester hit-and-run automobile accidents—especially if their insurance company is demanding information they cannot reasonably provide. While it might seem like an uphill battle, you still have legal options.
The Dietrich Law Firm P.C. is committed to providing Monroe County car hit-and-run victims with the highest level of personal injury service. Since 2005, we have helped our clients across New York secure more than $175 million in damages —money they have used to eradicate their medical debt, afford high-quality health care, and regain control over their lives. Our experienced attorneys could help you investigate the circumstances of your accident, working with local law enforcement to identify the other driver and hold them accountable for their wrongdoing. Please send us a message online or call us at (585) 939-3939 today to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation.New York State’s Hit-And-Run Laws
Leaving the scene of an accident is a serious criminal offense. Even if the collision only yielded minor injuries or limited property damage, motorists nevertheless have a legal obligation to remain at the scene, identify themselves, and render aid to any injured persons. New York law requires that motorists involved in accidents: stop to see if anyone is injured or if there is property damage; share their contact information and insurance information with the other driver; and call 9-1-1 or the local police department if anyone is injured, killed, or if there is property damage exceeding $1,500. The state Vehicle & Traffic Law sets the following accident reporting requirements:
- Vehicle and Traffic Law 600-1(a): If an accident involves only property damage and no injuries, the involved motorists must share their license and insurance information with the other drivers. You do not have to call the police if no one is injured and there is estimated property damage of less than $1,000.
- Vehicle and Traffic Law 600-2(a): If the accident involves injuries, the driver must notify law enforcement unless they are physically unable to do so. The motorists must also exchange their contact and insurance information.
Anyone who leaves the scene of an accident could be subject to criminal prosecution, with potential penalties ranging from fines and license revocation to up to 7 years in prison. Unfortunately, even criminal prosecution may not afford victims the relief they deserve. While the court could order the at-fault driver to pay restitution, the amount may not be sufficient to cover the full costs of recovery. Jed Dietrich, Esq., believes that nobody should have to bear the burden of another person’s mistake. If you, or a loved one, have been injured in a Rochester hit-and-run accident that was not your fault, you could be entitled to significant compensation. Please call Jed Dietrich, Esq., at (585) 939-3939 to schedule your consultation and discuss your options for legal relief.
HAVE YOU BEEN INJURED IN A HIT-AND-RUN ACCIDENT IN OR AROUND ROCHESTER?
YOU COULD BE ELIGIBLE FOR COMPENSATION, BUT YOU HAVE TO ACT FAST: THERE ARE STRICT TIME CONSTRAINTS APPLICABLE TO ALL PERSONAL INJURY CLAIMS. IF YOU WAIT TOO LONG, YOUR CASE COULD BE AUTOMATICALLY DISMISSED BY THE COURT.
CALL JED DIETRICH, ESQ., AND HIS TEAM OF HIGHLY QUALIFIED ROCHESTER, NEW YORK, PERSONAL INJURY ATTORNEYS AT (585) 939-3939 NOW TO OBTAIN THE HELP THAT YOU NEED!
Traffic accidents cost the United States economy an estimated $250 billion dollars annually. However, the costs of a serious hit-and-run accident cannot be expressed in measures of money. Each year, tens of thousands of New Yorkers require emergency medical treatment after being involved in traffic crashes. These accidents cause incalculable and immense pain and suffering, destroying lives and devastating families. Many of these collisions happen close to home. In one recent incident, a Rochester man was struck by a driver while riding his bicycle along Lake Avenue, just north of Riverside Cemetery. The at-fault motorist fled the scene, leaving the man to die. Police continue to search for the suspect. If you have been involved in a Monroe County hit-and-run accident, you should take the following steps to protect yourself and safeguard your potential legal recovery:
- Stay Calm: Assess the situation and check yourself and any passengers for injuries.
- Call 9-1-1: Call 9-1-1 or dial the Rochester Police Department directly at 585-428-6666. Although the investigating officers may not be able to immediately identify or locate the suspect, their report might contain valuable information.
- Seek Immediate Medical Attention: You should always seek medical attention after an accident, even if you do not believe that you have been seriously injured.
- Collect Evidence: If you are in a stable condition, try to collect evidence from the accident site. You could take photographs of the damage to your vehicle, your visible injuries, and any nearby traffic signs and traffic control devices.
- Speak to Eyewitnesses: Eyewitness testimony is often critical in hit-and-run accident claims. If you believe that somebody else may have witnessed the collision, ask them for their full name, phone number, and other contact information.
- Contact an Attorney: If the other driver left the scene of the accident without stopping to render aid or exchange insurance information, you might feel hopeless, angry, and scared. However, you should never have to pay out-of-pocket for a car crash that was not your fault. The Dietrich Law Firm P.C. could help you investigate the circumstances of your Rochester car crash by collaborating with law enforcement, subpoenaing surveillance camera footage, and interviewing eyewitnesses.
However, you have to act fast: the Empire State has a strict statute of limitations for all automobile accident claims. If you wait too long to take action, the court could automatically dismiss your claim without consideration, even if you have an otherwise open-and-shut case. Do not let justice evade you: please send the Dietrich Law Firm P.C. a message online or call us at (585) 939-3939 to schedule your consultation as soon as possible.
Call the Dietrich Law Firm P.C. immediately at (585) 939-3939 so that our aggressive, tenacious and hardworking personal injury lawyers can fight to obtain the best result for your personal injury claim in Rochester, New York. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and there is never a fee until we WIN for you!